1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Chat Addicts!

    We are a very friendly chat forum covering a range of topics and always make new members feel very welcome

    Please feel free to take a look around.

    Registration is absolutely free and only takes a minute.
  3. Registered members can:
    • Join in the discussions or start their own
    • Play in the games arcade
    • Upload pictures to their own personal gallery
    • Promote their own sites
    • and much more!

    • Dismiss Notice

    Who is your ISP ?

    APS Jun 24, 2011

    1. APS

      APS Administrator Staff Member

      Joined:
      Jun 24, 2011
      Messages:
      13,066
      Likes Received:
      1,176
      Trophy Points:
      860
      Who is your ISP and what speeds do you get ?

      Virgin Media is my ISP and I get 30Mbps down and 3Mbps up.
       
    2. Shortie861

      Shortie861 Administrator Staff Member

      Joined:
      Mar 24, 2011
      Messages:
      39,189
      Likes Received:
      1,050
      Trophy Points:
      810
      Virgin Media is currently my ISP. I am currently on their 50MB

      You wouldn't think so looking at my speedtest though

      [​IMG]
       
    3. Cecil15

      Cecil15 I am Me...

      Joined:
      Jun 25, 2011
      Messages:
      239
      Likes Received:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      400
      My ISP now is Smart Broadband. It's 1 GBPS which is pretty good for internet browsing. Love it!
       
    4. APS

      APS Administrator Staff Member

      Joined:
      Jun 24, 2011
      Messages:
      13,066
      Likes Received:
      1,176
      Trophy Points:
      860
      Your download speed is well short Shortie861,what should your upload be ?

      My speeds are pretty well as should be.

      [​IMG]
       
    5. Shortie861

      Shortie861 Administrator Staff Member

      Joined:
      Mar 24, 2011
      Messages:
      39,189
      Likes Received:
      1,050
      Trophy Points:
      810
      Not too sure what my upload is myself but I do know that my download should be alot faster than that. I have had it faster than that on the speed test before so unless it was a bad time to do a speed test.
       
    6. clauemi

      clauemi Quiet Chatter

      Joined:
      Jun 26, 2011
      Messages:
      119
      Likes Received:
      3
      Trophy Points:
      300
      ATT is mine, have no idea what speed it is but is fast enough for me LOL.
       
    7. Shortie861

      Shortie861 Administrator Staff Member

      Joined:
      Mar 24, 2011
      Messages:
      39,189
      Likes Received:
      1,050
      Trophy Points:
      810
      I have heard that ATT are quite good myself, we don't get them over here in the UK unfortunately though. I have a friend in America who works for them, says they are great :)

      Did another test today and I am beginning to wonder now

      [​IMG]

      meant to be on a 50mb but hitting no where near.
       
    8. APS

      APS Administrator Staff Member

      Joined:
      Jun 24, 2011
      Messages:
      13,066
      Likes Received:
      1,176
      Trophy Points:
      860
      Your download speed is terrible,roughly half what your paying for.Upload should be 5Mbps so you not far off with that.I think a word with their techies might be needed.
       
    9. Shortie861

      Shortie861 Administrator Staff Member

      Joined:
      Mar 24, 2011
      Messages:
      39,189
      Likes Received:
      1,050
      Trophy Points:
      810
      It's ok, my fault. I am currently on wireless which is probably affecting the download and upload :) hit 50mb on the main computer which is wired to the modem :)
       
    10. APS

      APS Administrator Staff Member

      Joined:
      Jun 24, 2011
      Messages:
      13,066
      Likes Received:
      1,176
      Trophy Points:
      860
      Yup you'll never hit your speed over wireless :)
       
    11. Gamrpro

      Gamrpro Chat Addict

      Joined:
      Jun 28, 2011
      Messages:
      33
      Likes Received:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      100
      I was with Time Warner (Comcast). They were pretty fast for me. I'm switching to AT&T because Time Warner isn't available in my new area. I just hope its fast!
       
    12. Shortie861

      Shortie861 Administrator Staff Member

      Joined:
      Mar 24, 2011
      Messages:
      39,189
      Likes Received:
      1,050
      Trophy Points:
      810
      We don't get AT&T over here however I know a friend over there who uses them and swears by them, let us know how you get on with the Gamrpro. :)